Call for Nominations: US Representatives to IASC Working Groups

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view

Call for Nominations: US Representatives to IASC Working Groups

Everett, Lauren M.

Call for Nominations

U.S. Representatives to IASC

Deadline: Thursday, July 12, 2018  



Dear Colleagues,


The Polar Research Board (PRB) of the U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine serves as the U.S. National Committee to the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC), a non-governmental, international scientific organization that promotes and facilitates cooperation in all aspects of Arctic research. In this role, the PRB is responsible for the selection of the U.S. Delegates and members to each of the Working Groups of IASC. A list of current U.S. representatives can be found here:


Two of our current members (Elizabeth Hunke and John Cassano) have terms ending this year, and we are seeking nominations for a candidate to serve in the Cryosphere Working Group and a candidate for the Atmosphere Working Group. These individuals must be willing to commit significant time to the organization, because much work occurs between annual meetings and in the various project work groups. The U.S. delegates to the IASC working groups serve as liaisons between the U.S. Arctic research community and international organizations and researchers. U.S. delegates are expected to participate in the annual Arctic Science Summit week held each spring: and at least one other domestic meeting.


Nominees must have appropriate disciplinary expertise, current relevant scientific activity, be active in communicating with the scientific community, and have a demonstrated ability to function in a collaborative, international setting. Those selected must stay in close communication with the PRB, relevant federal agencies, and the science community so that he or she can accurately reflect U.S. interests at meetings. Nominations of indigenous scientists and those with an engineering background are encouraged and self-nominations are always welcome. 


Please submit your nominations by Thursday, July 12 using the form available here: Feel free to forward this request to others as well.


Best regards,





Lauren Everett

Program Officer

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

500 5th Street NW, K605

Washington, DC 20001

[hidden email]

You're subscribed to the CRYOLIST mailing list
To send a message to the list, email [hidden email]
For posting guidelines, see
To unsubscribe, see