Call for Registration - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Call for Registration - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

Betsy Turner-Bogren
Call for Registration
Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar
Uncertainty in Satellite-Derived Sea Ice Extent Estimates

Speaker: Walt Meier, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Tuesday, 23 August 2016
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKDT

To register for this webinar, go to:
https://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register

For further information about the event, please go to:
https://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars

Or contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Email: [hidden email]

--------------------
The Sea Ice Prediction Network (SIPN) announces a call for registration
for an open webinar entitled "Uncertainty in Satellite-Derived Sea Ice
Extent Estimates." This event is scheduled for Tuesday, 23 August 2016
from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKDT.

We request that all participants pre-register to join any SIPN webinar.
Anyone with an e-mail address can register, and participation is free.
To register for this webinar, go to:
https://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register.

This webinar is designed for the sea ice research community and others
interested in information about the uncertainty in sea ice extent
estimates from remotely-sensed data. While this is an open event,
attendees should be aware that the discussions will largely be of a
technical nature. The speaker will be Walt Meier, NASA Goddard Space
Flight Center.

Walt Meier is a research scientist at the NASA Goddard Space Flight
Center Cryospheric Sciences Laboratory. His research focuses on remote
sensing of sea ice, development of new sea ice products and sea ice
climate data records, and analyzing changes in the Arctic sea ice cover.
He has been principal investigator on a project to create a sea ice
climate data record.

Meier’s presentation will focus on uncertainty in sea ice extent
estimates from remotely-sensed data. Arctic sea ice extent estimates
from remote sensing data (e.g., passive microwave sensors like Advanced
Microwave Scanning Radiometer-Earth Observing System [AMSR-E] and
others) are widely used to project sea ice trends, initialize models,
and evaluate model forecasts. As with all kinds of remote observations,
this method of estimating sea ice extent has strengths and weaknesses
that result in unique kinds of uncertainty. To date, however, little
effort has been made to provide an uncertainty range of extent estimates
from satellite data. Meier will discuss our current understanding of
these issues and propose various methods of estimating extent
uncertainty, with the aim of improving analyses of sea ice extent trends
and variability. Time for participant questions will follow the
presentation.

The webinar is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKDT (11:00 a.m.to
12:00 p.m. PDT, 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. MDT, 1:00-2:00 p.m. CDT, and
2:00-3:00 p.m. EDT) on Tuesday, 23 August 2016.

The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

To register for the event and for further instructions, please go to:
https://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register.

For further information about the Sea Ice Prediction
Network, please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn.

For questions, please contact Betsy Turner-Bogren at ARCUS
([hidden email]).

-----
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Project Manager
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
3535 College Road Suite 101
Fairbanks, AK 99709-3710
Phone: 907/474-1600
[hidden email]

Follow ARCUS on twitter: @ArcticResearch


_______________________________________________
You're subscribed to the CRYOLIST mailing list
To send a message to the list, email [hidden email]
For posting guidelines, see http://cryolist.org/posting.html