Please post Call for Webinar Registration: Sea Ice Outlook: Post-season Discussion

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Please post Call for Webinar Registration: Sea Ice Outlook: Post-season Discussion

Betsy Turner-Bogren
The SIPN Leadership Team is pleased to announce:

Registration Is Now Available
Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar
Sea Ice Outlook: Post-season Discussion

Thursday, 9 October 2014
11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. AKDT

To register for the webinar, please go to:
http://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register

For question, please contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren ([hidden email])

--------------------
Registration is now available for a Sea Ice Prediction Network (SIPN)
webinar, which will focus on post-season analysis and discussion of the
2014 Sea Ice Outlook (SIO). The webinar is free of charge, open to the
public, and is scheduled for 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. AKDT (12:00-1:00
p.m. PDT, 1:00-2:00 p.m. MDT, 2:00-3:00 p.m. CDT, and 3:00-4:00 p.m.
EDT) on Thursday, 9 October 2014.

Registration is required. Instructions for joining the webinar will be
sent via email following registration. To register for the webinar,
please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register.

The SIO produces reports in June, July, and August that synthesize a
variety of predictions and perspectives on the arctic sea ice minimum.
More information about SIO, including this year's reports, is available
at: http://www.arcus.org/sipn/sea-ice-outlook.

This webinar will provide a venue for discussion of the 2014 SIO,
including processes that influenced sea ice melt this year and a review
of the differing approaches to predicting the sea ice minimum extent.

In preparation for the webinar, organizer encourage participants to
think about the following questions:

- How would you characterize the success of Sea Ice Outlook predictions
this year, including relative strengths or weaknesses of different
methodologies?
- What do you see as the main factors driving this year's minimum extent?
- If you were a SIO contributor, are there specific datasets or other
information that would have been useful to have for your predictions?
- What would you like to see changed (or kept the same) about the SIO?
- What kind of post-season analyses or activities would you like to see?
- Where do we go from here as a sea ice prediction community?

Webinar presenters include:

- Cecilia Bitz, University of Washington
- Julienne Stroeve, NSIDC
- Walt Meier, NASA
- Edward Blanchard-Wrigglesworth, University of Washington
- Francois Massonnet, Universite Catholique de Louvain, Brussels
- Jonny Day, University of Reading, United Kingdom
- Virginie Guemas, Institut Catala de Ciencies del Clima, Barcelona
- David Schroeder, University of Reading, United Kingdom

The webinar is open to all interested participants, including sea ice
researchers, students, decision-makers, and others. It will be archived
and available online after the event.

For more information about the webinar, please go to:
http://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars.

For further information about the Sea Ice Outlook or Sea Ice Prediction
Network, please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn.

For questions, please contact Betsy Turner-Bogren at ARCUS
([hidden email]).

-----
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Project Manager
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
3535 College Road Suite 101
Fairbanks, AK 99709-3710
Phone: 907/474-1600
[hidden email]


Follow ARCUS on twitter: @ArcticResearch






_______________________________________________
You're subscribed to the CRYOLIST mailing list
To send a message to the list, email [hidden email]
For posting guidelines, see http://cryolist.org/posting.html