REMINDER: Registration Available - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar on Tuesday, 11 August 2015

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

REMINDER: Registration Available - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar on Tuesday, 11 August 2015

Betsy Turner-Bogren
REMINDER: Registration Available
Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

Title: Industry Needs for Seasonal and Sub-seasonal Sea Ice Information
and Predictions

Speakers: Hajo Eicken, University of Alaska Fairbanks and
Adrienne Tivy National Research Council of Canada

Tuesday, 11 August 2015
9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. AKDT

To register for the webinar, please go to:
http://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register

For questions, please contact
Betsy Turner-Bogren (ARCUS)
Email: [hidden email]

--------------------
REMINDER: Registration is available for the Sea Ice Prediction Network
(SIPN) open webinar, entitled "Industry Needs for Seasonal and
Sub-seasonal Sea Ice Information and Predictions" presented by Hajo
Eicken, University of Alaska Fairbanks and Adrienne Tivy National
Research Council of Canada This one-hour webinar is scheduled for 9:00
a.m. AKDT (10:00 a.m. PDT, 11:00 a.m. MDT,12:00 p.m. CDT, and 1:00 p.m.
EDT) on Tuesday, 11 August 2015.

Registration is required. Instructions for joining the webinar are
available online and will be sent via email following registration.
To register for the webinar, please go to:
http://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register.

The presentation will provide a brief overview of contrasts and
commonalities between sea ice variables relevant for geophysical or
climate research and those relevant for operational needs in Arctic
seas. It will focus on two key events in the seasonal ice cycle,
freeze-up and break-up, and draw on examples from Alaska and Canadian
waters. Specific information needs of the maritime industry will be
explored in more detail including a brief review of how specific sea ice
information such as freeze-up enters into the regulatory and operations
process. A review of how industry needs are currently addressed,
including a discussion of key gaps, will identify specific questions
relevant in the context of sea ice predictions.

The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

For further information about the Sea Ice Prediction
Network, please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn.

For questions, please contact Betsy Turner-Bogren at ARCUS
([hidden email]).

-----
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Project Manager
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
3535 College Road Suite 101
Fairbanks, AK 99709-3710
Phone: 907/474-1600
[hidden email]

Follow ARCUS on twitter: @ArcticResearch


_______________________________________________
You're subscribed to the CRYOLIST mailing list
To send a message to the list, email [hidden email]
For posting guidelines, see http://cryolist.org/posting.html