Registration Now Available - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Registration Now Available - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

Betsy Turner-Bogren
Registration Now Available
Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar
Sea Ice Modeling: Characteristics and Processes Critical for the
Radiation Budget

Speaker: Elizabeth Hunke, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Tuesday, 3 March 2015
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKST

To register for the webinar, please go to:
http://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register

Or contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Email: [hidden email]
--------------------
Registration is now available for a Sea Ice Prediction Network (SIPN)
webinar entitled "Sea Ice Modeling: Characteristics and Processes
Critical for the Radiation Budget." This one-hour webinar is free of
charge and will begin at 10:00 a.m. AKST, 11:00 a.m. PST, 12:00 p.m.
MST, 1:00 p.m. CST, and 2:00 p.m. EST on Tuesday, 3 March 2015.

Registration is required. Instructions for joining the webinar are
available online and will be sent via email following registration. To
register for the webinar, please go to:
http://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register.

This webinar is designed for the sea ice research community and others
interested in learning about sea ice modeling from the global climate
model perspective. While this is an open event, attendees should be
aware that the discussions will largely be of a technical nature. The
speaker will be Elizabeth Hunke, Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Formed from frozen seawater rich in biological and chemical species, sea
ice exists as a thin layer at the interface of the ocean and atmosphere,
quite sensitive to small changes in temperature and radiative forcing.
The high albedo of the ice pack is critical for the Earth's heat
balance, and ice motion across the ocean's surface transports fresh
water and salt. The basic components in a complete sea ice model must
include both vertical thermodynamics and horizontal dynamics.

This webinar will provide an overview that includes topics in sea ice
modeling from the global climate modeling perspective, highlighting
recent development work within the Los Alamos Sea Ice Model CICE,
sometimes referred to as the Community Ice CodE, to more accurately
represent sea ice characteristics and processes critical for the
radiation budget of the ice pack.

The webinar is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKST (11:00 a.m.
to 12:00 p.m. PST, 12:00-1:00 p.m. MST, 1:00-2:00 p.m. CST, and
2:00-3:00 p.m. EST) on Tuesday, 3 March 2015.

The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

For further information about the Sea Ice Prediction
Network, please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn.

For questions, please contact Betsy Turner-Bogren at ARCUS
([hidden email]).

-----
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Project Manager
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
3535 College Road Suite 101
Fairbanks, AK 99709-3710
Phone: 907/474-1600
[hidden email]

Follow ARCUS on twitter: @ArcticResearch



_______________________________________________
You're subscribed to the CRYOLIST mailing list
To send a message to the list, email [hidden email]
For posting guidelines, see http://cryolist.org/posting.html