SAVE THE DATE - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

SAVE THE DATE - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

Betsy Turner-Bogren
SAVE THE DATE
Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar
Observations of Arctic Snow and Sea Ice Thickness
from Satellite and Airborne Surveys

Speaker: Nathan Kurtz, NASA

Tuesday, 5 May 2015
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKDT

For further information about the Sea Ice Prediction
Network, please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn

Or contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Email: [hidden email]

--------------------
The Sea Ice Prediction Network (SIPN) announces an open webinar entitled
"Observations of Arctic Snow and Sea Ice Thickness from Satellite and
Airborne Surveys" presented by Nathan Kurtz of NASA's Cryospheric
Sciences Lab at Goddard. This one-hour webinar is scheduled for 10:00
a.m. AKDT (11:00 a.m. PDT, 12:00 p.m. MDT, 1:00 p.m. CDT, and 2:00 EDT)
on Tuesday, 5 May 2015.

This webinar is designed for the sea ice research community and others
interested in learning about the current state and availability of snow
and sea ice thickness data. While this is an open event, attendees
should be aware that the discussions will be largely of a technical
nature.

The decline of Arctic sea ice thickness has been well documented using
multi-decadal surveys from submarine sonar data, however such data are
limited in temporal and spatial coverage. Recent technological advances
in radar and laser altimetry are now providing a means to determine the
thickness of sea ice and its snow cover over much broader scales opening
new avenues for improving seasonal sea ice predictions and enabling
studies of long-term climatological change.

This talk will focus on the current state and availability of snow and
sea ice thickness data from two operational data sets: NASA's Operation
IceBridge airborne surveys and the European Space Agency's CryoSat-2
satellite mission. The accuracy and limitations of the data sets will
also be discussed to place the utility of the data in context for use in
a variety of study areas.

More details including registration instructions will be announced
closer to the event. The webinar will be archived and available online
after the event.

For further information about the Sea Ice Prediction
Network, please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn.

For questions, please contact Betsy Turner-Bogren at ARCUS
([hidden email]).

-----
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Project Manager
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
3535 College Road Suite 101
Fairbanks, AK 99709-3710
Phone: 907/474-1600
[hidden email]

Follow ARCUS on twitter: @ArcticResearch




_______________________________________________
You're subscribed to the CRYOLIST mailing list
To send a message to the list, email [hidden email]
For posting guidelines, see http://cryolist.org/posting.html