Save the Date - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Save the Date - Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

Betsy Turner-Bogren
SAVE THE DATE
Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar
Sea Ice Modeling: Characteristics and Processes Critical for the
Radiation Budget

Speaker: Elizabeth Hunke, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Tuesday, 3 March 2015
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKST

For further information about the Sea Ice Prediction
Network, please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn

Or contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Email: [hidden email]

--------------------
The Sea Ice Prediction Network (SIPN) announces an open webinar entitled
"Sea Ice Modeling: Characteristics and Processes Critical for the
Radiation Budget." This event is scheduled for Tuesday, 3 March 2015
from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKDT.

This webinar is designed for the sea ice research community and others
interested in learning about sea ice modeling from the global climate
model perspective. While this is an open event, attendees should be
aware that the discussions will largely be of a technical nature. The
speaker will be Elizabeth Hunke, Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Formed from frozen seawater rich in biological and chemical species, sea
ice exists as a thin layer at the interface of the ocean and atmosphere,
quite sensitive to small changes in temperature and radiative forcing.
The high albedo of the ice pack is critical for the Earth's heat
balance, and ice motion across the ocean's surface transports fresh
water and salt. The basic components in a complete sea ice model must
include both vertical thermodynamics and horizontal dynamics.

This webinar will provide an overview that includes topics in sea ice
modeling from the global climate modeling perspective, highlighting
recent development work within the Los Alamos Sea Ice Model CICE,
sometimes referred to as the Community Ice CodE, to more accurately
represent sea ice characteristics and processes critical for the
radiation budget of the ice pack.

The webinar is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. AKST (11:00 a.m.
to 12:00 p.m. PST, 12:00-1:00 p.m. MST, 1:00-2:00 p.m. CST, and
2:00-3:00 p.m. EST) on Tuesday, 3 March 2015. More details including
registration instructions, will be announced closer to the event.

The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

For further information about the Sea Ice Prediction
Network, please go to: http://www.arcus.org/sipn.

For questions, please contact Betsy Turner-Bogren at ARCUS
([hidden email]).

 


-----
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Project Manager
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
3535 College Road Suite 101
Fairbanks, AK 99709-3710
Phone: 907/474-1600
[hidden email]


Follow ARCUS on twitter: @ArcticResearch






_______________________________________________
You're subscribed to the CRYOLIST mailing list
To send a message to the list, email [hidden email]
For posting guidelines, see http://cryolist.org/posting.html